Removing the Browser Chrome from Firefox, IE and Chrome

Discussion in 'IT & Internet' started by Tin, Sep 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tin

    Tin Just an SEO Staff Member

    5,942 1,647
    Hi Guys

    Looking for some advice on whether it's possible to remove the browser chrome when someone visits a web page (the page is standard html). The browsers I want to remove the chrome on are Firefox (if you press F11 on your keyboard when in Firefox you'll see what I mean) Google Chrome and also Internet Explorer.

    I know it could be done as I did it myself but, that was a few years ago, anyone know if it can still be done these days and how?

    Cheers for any input.

    Ray
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2014
    Posted: Sep 12, 2014 By: Tin Member since: Nov 14, 2005
    #1
  2. edmondscommerce

    edmondscommerce Magento + PHP Expert Full Member - Verified Business

    3,656 624
    Posted: Sep 12, 2014 By: edmondscommerce Member since: Nov 11, 2008
    #2
  3. Tin

    Tin Just an SEO Staff Member

    5,942 1,647
    Hi Joseph

    I'll have a look over that, thank you.
     
    Posted: Sep 12, 2014 By: Tin Member since: Nov 14, 2005
    #3
  4. Tin

    Tin Just an SEO Staff Member

    5,942 1,647
    I've looked this over and my programmer tells me it's not a suitable solution. I'll elaborate a bit if it helps to make things clearer.

    I want visitors to come to a web page. On their arrival at that page their browser (Chrome, Internet Explorer or Firefox) is to open in fullscreen mode and remain in fullscreen mode until they leave the site or close their browser window.

    Apparently it can't be done with modern browsers but I just need to chase this one to ground before I put it to rest.

    Anyone any thoughts?

    Cheers

    Ray
     
    Posted: Sep 13, 2014 By: Tin Member since: Nov 14, 2005
    #4
  5. vivente

    vivente UKBF Regular Free Member

    281 14
    So you want to force visitor's to your site to view your site in fullscreen? I'd be extremely annoyed if you done that to me. Is there a reason why it must be fullscreen? My browser, my choice plus those that have never faced a fullscreen browser before will freak out. Great visitor experience for them.
     
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: vivente Member since: Jul 20, 2013
    #5
  6. ryedale

    ryedale Contributor Full Member - Verified Business

    1,548 369
    Was going to say that - if you have to do it, it must be an optional link to do so

    Your site should always adapt to how the visitor wants to view it, not how you want them to view it
     
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: ryedale Member since: Dec 17, 2013
    #6
  7. Tin

    Tin Just an SEO Staff Member

    5,942 1,647
    1: I'm not asking if visitors would be annoyed by this, I'm asking if it can be done.
    2: If it can be done then I know visitors won't be annoyed by this.
    3: Yes, there's a very good reason why I want to do it.
    4: Freak Out, they won't.
    5: Yes, it's your browser, your choice but it's my site!
    6: The visitor experience is precisely what they need.

    Thanks for your input.
     
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: Tin Member since: Nov 14, 2005
    #7
  8. Tin

    Tin Just an SEO Staff Member

    5,942 1,647
    Thanks for your reply. I understand exactly what you're saying but in this instance it makes the most sense for both my visitors and myself but as above, I'm looking for input on whether it can be done and how, nothing else.

    Thanks anyway.

    Ray
     
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: Tin Member since: Nov 14, 2005
    #8
  9. ianm10

    ianm10 UKBF Contributor Free Member

    72 16
    It can definitely be done, as "dodgy" sites also used to use this technique! As a business, this may give off the wrong impression. As above, this will probably anger/frustrate visitors.

    A google of Full Screen API appears to return the info needed.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2014
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: ianm10 Member since: May 7, 2012
    #9
  10. Tin

    Tin Just an SEO Staff Member

    5,942 1,647
    Thanks Ian, Flash based sites used to do it a lot too but that was a few years ago.

    Cheers
     
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: Tin Member since: Nov 14, 2005
    #10
  11. ianm10

    ianm10 UKBF Contributor Free Member

    72 16
    Does a google of "HTML5 Full-Screen API" bring back any suitable info for your needs?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: ianm10 Member since: May 7, 2012
    #11
  12. Tin

    Tin Just an SEO Staff Member

    5,942 1,647
    Thanks for the suggestion Ian. I'll have a look over that but I'm not a programmer so will need to run it by someone else too. Thanks again :)
     
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: Tin Member since: Nov 14, 2005
    #12
  13. ianm10

    ianm10 UKBF Contributor Free Member

    72 16
    No probs and good luck [emoji1]


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    Posted: Sep 14, 2014 By: ianm10 Member since: May 7, 2012
    #13
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.