Refunds On Made To Order Items

Discussion in 'Legal' started by Dolphin-Design, Mar 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dolphin-Design

Dolphin-Design UKBF Contributor Free Member

87 14
    Hello

I have looked everywhere including gov.uk and can't find the information I need.

Under the distance selling regulations what are the rules on refunds for hand made items?

Can I charge a restocking fee? From what I have read this is something normally only done on electrical items

I make and sell canvas prints and have someone on eBay returning a print demanding a full refund.

Would much appreciate any feedback.

Dan

Posted: Mar 2, 2015 By: Dolphin-Design Member since: Aug 4, 2013
  2. john1989

john1989 Guest

0 0
    I am not an expert, but I believe custom orders are exempt from the rules unless faulty. What was the reason for the return?

Posted: Mar 2, 2015 By: john1989 Member since: Jan 1, 1970
  3. Dolphin-Design

87 14
    'I don't need it anymore'
    lol
    But this is eBay and I have a feeling even if I dispute the return and report the buyer I will still have to complete a full refund

Posted: Mar 2, 2015 By: Dolphin-Design Member since: Aug 4, 2013
  4. OldWelshGuy

OldWelshGuy UKBF Legend { Moderator }

20,491 7,066
    @john1989 is correct, the DSR don't apply to bespoke items. But that doesn't impact on their statutory rights. why are they returning it? What reason have they given?

Posted: Mar 2, 2015 By: OldWelshGuy Member since: Jun 12, 2008
  5. john1989

john1989 Guest

0 0
    What a customer.

I'd dig my heels in on this one, if legally possible of course.

I'm sure they can apply to PayPal for a refund but you will get given the opportunity to dispute first?

Posted: Mar 2, 2015 By: john1989 Member since: Jan 1, 1970
  6. OldWelshGuy

20,491 7,066
    The problem with Ebay is they just leave negative feedback, it is a one sided marketplace weighted almost entirely on the buyer. (and don't those buyers know it)