Raising prices

Discussion in 'Cashflow forum' started by JBC88, Jan 5, 2017.

1. JBC88

JBC88 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

1 1
    Hi im a newbie to the forum,

I run a window cleaning service as a sole trader and I would like some advice regarding raising prices.
    In the past 4 years my costs have consistently increased and this year some suppliers have raised prices by 15%. Unfortunately i have not regularly increased prices annually so now im at a point where i must do so to run at a profit and provide a living. The problem is im not sure how much to raise prices by considering no increase for 4 years.

How often do you raise prices and how do you decide how much to increase them by? Do you have some kind of pricing formula?
    Im interested to know how members in the same industry as me price their service but welcome advice from all members.

Another issue iv found amongst fellow window cleaners is that no one seems to price accurately they just go by "the going rate" or what competitors charge of maybe 50p-£2 per window (depending on area of country).

Many window cleaners dont run their service as a business and just aim to provide a living which is ok however i desire to run a professional business and expand so i need to make sure i have enough profit to invest in marketing etc and still provide a good wage.

I want to try figure out the minimum i need to raise prices by but im also worried that if i raise them to steeply i will lose alot of customers.

Thanks

Posted: Jan 5, 2017 By: JBC88 Member since: Jan 5, 2017
  2. AppCo

AppCo UKBF Contributor Free Member

30 3
    I would be open with your customers about it and explain to them that your prices will increase - Set this as a date in the future and you can gauge how many customers you may lose, if you just say "from next week the price will be £xx" and that's a problem for 90% of your customers then you don't have much time to try and negotiate/go back on the decision.