Question about importing from China. Newbie/Naive questions!

Discussion in 'International Business' started by Robert, Dec 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robert

Robert UKBF Newcomer Free Member

184 0
    Hello,

I've recently contacted a company in China to supply some hand-tools. they've sent me some samples and I'm about to order some.

Let me just say, this is my first time importing anything and I am very naive! I'm years away from being able to order a container load, I'm just a one-man-band. But this company is happy to supply small orders of about 500 items each which I'll sell via ebay and my website.

So I want to order 1000 items, I would have thought this would be less than a pallet load, but it's difficult to say.

The chap I have been dealing with has asked the question...

Which has really raised some questions for me. He has asked for a port. Does that mean I can just specify my local docks and go to collect it there? Does this mean if I specify "air" that I have to collect it from the airport?

I want to receive the parcel asap, so if I select "sea" would this mean I'd wait for months to get anything? if i select "air" would this mean a huge bill as it's quite a heavy and large crate/box.

Any advise would be gratefully received!

Posted: Dec 1, 2005 By: Robert Member since: Dec 1, 2005
  2. caroline

caroline UKBF Newcomer Free Member

220 0
    Hi Robert
    I'm in the same situation myself. I am getting a full container load from China, they are manufacturing a new product for me. I'm also in the process of trying to find out all this information too. I don't think sea transport takes that long (unless you choose the slow boat option)