Product Liability Insurance for Umbrellas imported from China

Discussion in 'International Business' started by GivingisLiving, Feb 27, 2020.

1. GivingisLiving

GivingisLiving UKBF Newcomer Free Member

7 0
    Hi Everyone

I have recently imported umbrellas from China to sell, as a project with charities. Naively I didn't think that getting product liability insurance would be an issue. but it does seem to be. Does anyone know a UK insurance company that would cover this?

Also whilst my product is pretty good quality and my manufacturer generally did a good job, there are a few quality issues. As the product is an umbrella there is no way to tell how many of my shipment is affected, without opening all the umbrellas making them less saleable. When repacking they look used. I have contacted the manufacturer but am not optimistic as they are in China. How do other people who import check quality when items are packaged ready for sale. Sorry, as you can probably tell I am new to selling imported product. As far as I am aware, my Chinese supplier isn't offering Rights to Recourse.

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

Posted: Feb 27, 2020 By: GivingisLiving Member since: Feb 27, 2020
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

24,357 2,959
    When buying anything its a good idea to do quality checks, either initially with samples or with the main delivery by checking random items until you are satisfied.

Can you repack a different way so it doesn't look used? Been a while since last owned an umbrella but looked good still even after being opened dozens of times.

Perhaps tie a ribbon around the brolly? Perhaps package in slightly different packaging?

Posted: Feb 27, 2020 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
  3. GivingisLiving

GivingisLiving UKBF Newcomer Free Member

7 0
    Thanks @Mr D. I did get samples before purchasing. They were fine. However, there are definitely a few small but significant issues that have been noted in the full shipment.