Plant/tool hire/sales business

Discussion in 'First Steps To Starting A Business' started by MC2016, Nov 28, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MC2016

MC2016 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

9 0
    Hey,
    For a while now I have wanted to set up my own business in the plant industry.
    Im 28 and not sure on how to really go about it.

I have 9 years experience in the industry fixing plant and tool machinery.
    Have knowledge on tool hire as I worked for one for 6nyears.
    Have quite alot of builders, gardeners etc that use me already to repair their machinery so have possible customers lined up.
    Basically I would like to set up repairing machinery full time and hire and sales too.
    I have a good knowledge on what machines are popular, reliable etc too.
    I am thinking it maybe easier to go in partnership with someone else?
    I don't have a place or the finances to have a place to work out of.
    Currently use my garage for repairs but it isnt really suitable.

Anyone out there whos brain I could pick for advice guidance? Anyone in Leeds area who could meet for a chat about it or even interested in becoming partners?

Posted: Nov 28, 2016 By: MC2016 Member since: May 19, 2016
  2. profitxchange

profitxchange UKBF Ace Free Member

1,704 192
    Hi How much competition is there in plant hire in leeds? Personally I would suggest repair and refurbishment might be a better bet as you have all the plant hire people as potential clients rather than competition. Go talk to them about your ideas and see how sympathetic/interested they might be. If they do it in house they will employ someone at a cost. say 10 local hire co's = 10 repair bods - you might be able to do it all with 2 plus a driver to collect/deliver.
    I would avoid partnership - keep it simple boss and employee(s)
    A decent garden shed could be your workshop - secure of course.
    How far are you from the hire shops - travel will be a significant cost.