Opencart - CSV file help

Discussion in 'Opencart Support' started by gemd89, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. gemd89

    gemd89 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 1,979 Likes: 202
    Hey Guys, I have a spreadsheet of products and a folder full of images. I am trying to make a CSV file so I can upload to my new opencart website. However I am not sure what details I need in which order or how to get the image to match with the information.

    The image number and product description number match but theres no way I can put information saying link file with images.

    Can someone offer some advice?

    Thanks
    Gemma
     
    Posted: Aug 4, 2013 By: gemd89 Member since: Oct 3, 2009
    #1
  2. Merchant UK

    Merchant UK UKBF Ace Full Member - Verified Business

    Posts: 2,419 Likes: 592
    Hi Gemma

    Not sure if it will work with opencart but if you can export a csv file then use excel to open it and see what's in the columns. You can use this as an example for making your own csv file to import.

    Have do this before my self and seems to work, Have you a csv file you can export to see the setup?

    Failing that just make up a test product and export that ;)
     
    Posted: Aug 4, 2013 By: Merchant UK Member since: Aug 15, 2010
    #2
  3. Tech4Homes

    Tech4Homes UKBF Regular Full Member

    Posts: 462 Likes: 64
    Install this (it's free)

    http://www.opencart.com/index.php?r...o&extension_id=17&filter_search=import export

    Add a product, export your product to CSV then you will have the required CSV layout for you to add all your products to in the correct format.

    Then you can upload it and all should work fine!

    I must admit I did struggle to get image paths to work properly so usually added all the products then just went through and added the pics after.
     
    Posted: Aug 4, 2013 By: Tech4Homes Member since: Sep 30, 2012
    #3
  4. joshgeake

    joshgeake UKBF Regular Free Member

    Posts: 132 Likes: 26
    Use the import/export module that Tech4Homes recommended, it's fantastic.

    Create a single product manually and once you're happy with the info/image etc then export it and use the CSV/XLS it creates as a template for further products.

    I've manually added products to product,product_description,product_to_category etc before and it's fine but in all honesty, the script that bloke made is far faster. Much more forgiving too.
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: joshgeake Member since: Jul 25, 2013
    #4
  5. gemd89

    gemd89 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 1,979 Likes: 202
    I cannot find the option to export one product though?

    If I go to CSV export - then its a really long list for me to choose from. We have 200 products on the site now and I dont want to lose them.

    Exceed - I have sent you an email, so depends on what your quote would be. I have around 12,000 products to add in total.

    Gemma
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: gemd89 Member since: Oct 3, 2009
    #5
  6. gemd89

    gemd89 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 1,979 Likes: 202
    Josh - Did you get the images to work with that though?

    Gemma
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: gemd89 Member since: Oct 3, 2009
    #6
  7. joshgeake

    joshgeake UKBF Regular Free Member

    Posts: 132 Likes: 26
    Hi Gemma,

    Yes the images work fine with the import method. You may need to replicate the permissions on /image/data/product.jpg to /image/data/product-imported.jpg rather than just dragging them over and keeping your fingers crossed.
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: joshgeake Member since: Jul 25, 2013
    #7
  8. gemd89

    gemd89 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 1,979 Likes: 202
    Ok - I think you just confused me more

    Gemma
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: gemd89 Member since: Oct 3, 2009
    #8
  9. joshgeake

    joshgeake UKBF Regular Free Member

    Posts: 132 Likes: 26
    What happens when you click on...

    System > Export/Import > Export (top right)?

    It should download an XLS.
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: joshgeake Member since: Jul 25, 2013
    #9
  10. gemd89

    gemd89 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 1,979 Likes: 202
    Will I still have my products on the website If I save the export on my computer?

    Cheers
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: gemd89 Member since: Oct 3, 2009
    #10
  11. joshgeake

    joshgeake UKBF Regular Free Member

    Posts: 132 Likes: 26
    Yes. Just exporting it won't cause a problem.

    If you're still scared then backup your database using phpmyadmin but I've never had a problem with the Export/Import module.

    Of course, if you then *import* the file again, if memory serves me correctly then it will overwrite what was there before.
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: joshgeake Member since: Jul 25, 2013
    #11
  12. gemd89

    gemd89 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 1,979 Likes: 202
    It downloads and saves - But then will not let me open the file

    Gemma
     
    Posted: Aug 5, 2013 By: gemd89 Member since: Oct 3, 2009
    #12
  13. kibi_walker

    kibi_walker UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 3 Likes: 0
    Import is faster if you do it via Store Manager for OpenCart. Easy to use Import Wizard will guide you through all the steps and update your products on a fly.
    This extension can simplify the work with OpenCart and offer more functional, automated import/export, on-the-fly data changes and updates, ability to connect with eBay and much more. It's not free but powerful tool that has a stong development team behind it. There is free trial of extension available for use for 2 weeks.
     
    Posted: Dec 19, 2013 By: kibi_walker Member since: Oct 3, 2012
    #13
  14. Holopainen

    Holopainen UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 82 Likes: 10
    Posted: Feb 17, 2017 By: Holopainen Member since: Dec 3, 2012
    #14
  15. antropy

    antropy OpenCart Experts Full Member - Verified Business

    Posts: 2,717 Likes: 461
    Wow, long thread. It might be quicker / cheaper in terms of your time to find a developer from the OpenCart Commercial forum to do this one.
     
    Posted: May 31, 2017 By: antropy Member since: Aug 2, 2010
    #15
  16. webmto

    webmto UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 90 Likes: 2
    If you not solved the import, try this one:

    - Export the products to see the file structures
    - Construct the import file based on the exported structures, it can be made in perl, python or even php
    - Load this file form import menu.

    It should work out quite nice.

    Advice. Try to split the numbers of products per import.file

    A larger number of products (even millions) can be imported directly in you databases buy I will not advice you to unless you know what you're doing.
     
    Posted: Sep 7, 2017 By: webmto Member since: Aug 28, 2017
    #16