Online Writing Business

Discussion in 'Ecommerce Forum' started by Dannydee, Aug 29, 2020.

1. Dannydee

Dannydee UKBF Contributor Free Member

65 1
    Hi,

For the past few years it has often been on my mind to have a side hustle.

This plan became a reality in 2019 when I started a drop-shipping store. It was ultimately a pretty lame attempt, and I didn’t give it my all, but I learned a few things.

So lately I’ve again been thinking about what to do as a side hustle, and long story short, on the verge of giving up, I read a valuable e-book today about starting an online writing business. This potential business idea has admittedly been one of the top 2 on my list, along with being a VA of some sort. Although I’d much prefer being a writer as I like writing.

I have a degree in psychology, and I’m very much interested in history and study it for fun, so much so that I’ve enrolled on a history degree with the open uni and I’ll likely start that in January.

I’m just trying to figure out my niche. I have a vague long-term vision of what my website could look like as it grows and there are many more writers involved, but has anyone here ever started and/or runs a writing business?

I’d love to hear about it.

Posted: Aug 29, 2020 By: Dannydee Member since: Sep 29, 2018
  2. AllUpHere

AllUpHere UKBF Ace Free Member

3,359 1,272
    I'm not quite sure what you are getting at? What exactly is a writing business?

Posted: Aug 30, 2020 By: AllUpHere Member since: Jun 30, 2014
  3. fisicx

fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

33,362 9,869
    Writing about what? How do you plan to make money doing this writing.

As an aside, there is lots of money to be made as a technical author. But you need engineering skills to do this.

Posted: Aug 30, 2020 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
  4. Mark T Jones

Mark T Jones UKBF Big Shot Free Member

4,848 1,852
    As above

Can you clarify what you mean by ‘writing business ‘?