Offered a Permanent Position - OVERDRAWN Business Account

Discussion in 'Insolvency' started by NeoDoug, Mar 5, 2018.

1. NeoDoug

NeoDoug UKBF Newcomer Free Member

5 0
    Long time lurker - I signed up to request some advice.

Limited Company Incorporated - March 2013
    I am the Sole Director. I work in the manufacturing industry as a contractor.
    My current employer wants to give me a permanent position and therefore my LTD company would be surplus to requirements.

I am up to date with my accounts my 16-17 accounts were paid on time in December, but this put me into my overdraft. This is a carry over from my first 1-2 years of operating whereby I did not leave enough cash in the business to cover accounts, tax etc and the amount I've gone into my overdraft has reduced each year since.

Currently, I am in my business overdraft by £1300 but this will reduce weekly by around £200 until the date whereby my employment would become permanent - if I take the role I expect this to be in the next 6-12 weeks.

I have no requirement to submit my 17-18 accounts yet and I am already unregistered from VAT and paid up. How do I go about closing the business in view of the fact that my 17-18 accounts wouldn't be due until December '18? What do I do about my self assessment tax? The likelihood is that I will be out of my overdraft by the time I take up perm employment but would I be liable for any other costs, as obviously there will be little to no money within the business to account for these.

Posted: Mar 5, 2018 By: NeoDoug Member since: Mar 5, 2018
  2. Scalloway

Scalloway UKBF Legend Free Member

14,046 2,993
    You can change the company's accounting date to one just after you cease using it, then submit accounts and pay any tax due. thereafter you can have the company dissolved for a fee of £10.

https://www.gov.uk/change-your-companys-year-end

Posted: Mar 5, 2018 By: Scalloway Member since: Jun 6, 2010
  3. NeoDoug

5 0