Nursery startup costs?

Discussion in 'First Steps To Starting A Business' started by Yasin1984, Sep 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yasin1984

Yasin1984 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

3 0
    I currently work as a teacher and would like to quit in order to start up my own nursery business. Does anyone have any idea what the start up cost might be? Id be looking at starting with about 20 children.

Any advice would be appreciated

Posted: Sep 11, 2013 By: Yasin1984 Member since: Sep 11, 2013
  2. Scalloway

Scalloway UKBF Legend Free Member

14,047 2,993
    I would think premises would be the biggest expense, either to buy or rent. Then there is the cost of any conversion work.

You will need staff to start with so you would need to have money to pay their wages from week one before income started to build up.

Posted: Sep 11, 2013 By: Scalloway Member since: Jun 6, 2010
  3. ethical PR

ethical PR UKBF Legend Free Member

6,869 1,500
    speak to your local council find out what criteria you need to fulfill to run a nursery and then work out the costs of setting up and running a nursery based on their critieria.

also factor in marketing costs.

Posted: Sep 12, 2013 By: ethical PR Member since: Apr 19, 2009
  4. businessfunding

businessfunding Guest

0 0
    The advice I always give, get your hands on a cash flow spreadsheet and use this as a guide to what costs you need to be considering

From experience this isn't a very lucrative business - many are run from freehold premises with the capital gain being the premises themselves

Posted: Sep 14, 2013 By: businessfunding Member since: Jan 1, 1970
  5. Latebloomer

Latebloomer UKBF Regular Full Member

217 20
    As a teacher I would assume that you like children.

Perhaps try to gain experience first by working in a nursery itself. Don't give up your daytime job as I don't think it nursery earns a great deal of money.

Posted: Sep 14, 2013 By: Latebloomer Member since: Mar 3, 2012