General Business Forum Brought to you by Salesforce

New Shop Premises

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by mpollard, Jan 12, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mpollard

mpollard UKBF Newcomer Free Member

18 1
    Hi Everyone,

I have been lingering round the forums for a few years but I haven't really posted a whole lot in this time and now I am looking for a little advice and I hope some of you can help.

We have been running our business online for over 5 years and we are looking to expand and we are looking to rent our first retail unit. We are currently in a office/storage space but we have outgrown the site and our landlord can no longer help us. We have to travel 30-40 minutes per day, which we hate doing at the moment.

A shop, very near to our home has just come up, it is plenty big enough, the rent is similar to what we are paying now (but I know I can get cheaper space elsewhere) It is in a bit of a state. It was abandoned by the previous tenant who ran off without paying the rent they owed.

What should I expect from the landlord in terms of the finish of the property? Currently it is full of the previous tenants shop fittings, which the landlord has said they will remove. But the wiring/electrics looks like a bit of a mess, there are two boarded up back doors that are screwed shut. The toilet is out through the backdoor and inside another door - we didn't even see this on our first viewing.

Any advice would be useful - we are pretty bad at negotiating so the plan is to hire both a Commercial Surveyor and a Solicitor to help with the process.

We haven't really ever ran from a shop space but it would work well for our business as we can run classes and possibly even incorporate a tea/coffee shop.

I look forward to reading any of your input.
    Thanks

Posted: Jan 12, 2016 By: mpollard Member since: Mar 30, 2013
  2. MY OFFICE IN CHINA

MY OFFICE IN CHINA UKBF Legend Full Member

5,619 1,319