New logistics network

Discussion in 'North West' started by XFreight, Feb 9, 2018.

1. XFreight

XFreight UKBF Newcomer Free Member

4 0
    Morning,

I currently work in the logistics industry. For a big freight firm operating competitively throughout the whole of the UK with hubs in Ireland too.

I can not help but ask myself the same question every single day when I wake up: “why can’t I do this myself?”

The system is very organised, although some customers will beg to differ. And the process is perfect for me. Supply and demand, I love the graft. And It takes a lot!

So what I’m asking is, where do I start? How do I build up a rapport of customers who need freight deliveries on a daily basis? Do I need a big warehouse full of 7.5t wagons ready to go everyday to start with. What sort of team will I need?

I’ve got this fire burning deep inside telling me I need to start up my own freight business and become a competitor. I just don’t know what’s first. Although I’ve built up a small list of contacts for local self employed class 1 and class 2 drivers. A contact with a fleet of vans for smaller deliveries. A contact with a fleet of larger 7.5 ton wagon on hand if ever I needed them.

Forgive me if I sound like I’m blabbering on a bit, but I need to get this out. I need some sort of guidance I think? Some one to point me in the right direction? Because an idea or passion alone won’t put food on the table of course...

Posted: Feb 9, 2018 By: XFreight Member since: Feb 9, 2018
  2. Shaun619

Shaun619 UKBF Contributor Free Member

42 2
    It sounds like you and me have a lot in common....I work in a warehouse at the moment also with ambitions of going out on my own with running a warehouse with a few sideline projects. The issue to me is the high start up costs if you dont have contracts from the get go you could be in trouble real quick. I have drawn up a few business plans in the past but I have never had the confidence to go for it.