Moving from Sole Trader to Ltd Company - VAT Status

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by OasisGardening, Nov 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OasisGardening

OasisGardening UKBF Newcomer

62 0
    Hi

I am currently a sole trader who is moving to a Ltd Company.

As a sole trader I have been operating just under the VAT registration threshold, but with growing turnover would have needed to have become VAT registered within the next couple of months.

Moving to a Ltd Company, will the turnover as a sole trader prior to incorporation need to be taken into account with the turnover of the Ltd company & I therefore still need to register the company for VAT.

Or

As the Ltd company is a separate legal entity, does the company start with a blank sheet of paper & I therefore don't need to register for VAT for a few months i.e until turnover within the Ltd company is approaching the VAT threshold?

Thanks

Posted: Nov 27, 2010 By: OasisGardening Member since: Nov 18, 2010
  2. mr. mischief

mr. mischief UKBF Regular

238 58
    There is no blank sheet of paper. The good news is that if you register as a sole trader, you can carry the same VAT number over into the limited company which at least saves all the hassle of doing it twice.

Posted: Nov 28, 2010 By: mr. mischief Member since: Sep 2, 2009
  3. David Griffiths

David Griffiths UKBF Legend

11,353 3,561
    I don't believe that to be correct. I believe that you only have to count turnover of a previous business if the previous business was or was required to be VAT Registered. If it wasn't required to be VAT registered then you don't count the turnover.

HMRC guidance

Posted: Nov 28, 2010 By: David Griffiths Member since: Jun 21, 2008
  4. DFL

DFL UKBF Legend

1,020 334
    As a limited company you are a seperate legal entity from then sole trade and therefore you start your VAT calculations from scratch, meaning there is no need to register for VAT yet.