Magento FAQ

Discussion in 'Magento Support' started by Henry Osadzinski, May 10, 2013.

  1. Henry Osadzinski

    Henry Osadzinski UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    2,459 1,135
    Welcome to the Magento Support forum. This is an area for members to ask questions, share advice and talk about the latest developments relevant to Magento users.

    If you're already using Magento or are thinking about using it for your site, this is a space to post your big questions and answers. We'll regularly look in and curate / organise (with credit to authors :)) so that it can grow into a helpful resource for UKBF users.
     
    Posted: May 10, 2013 By: Henry Osadzinski Member since: Aug 30, 2011
    #1
  2. apricot

    apricot UKBF Regular Free Member

    294 23
    Just on time! Thanks for this..

    I have a question.. I bought & started to use a template called Shopper from ThemeForest..

    I have a problem with setting up the home page ( i need to get categories list on the left) I am trying to get help from their support, but they don't really check the forum, it is very quite. Any one knows how i can fix it or where can i go for help?
     
    Posted: May 10, 2013 By: apricot Member since: Apr 7, 2012
    #2
  3. Faevilangel

    Faevilangel Website Critic Full Member

    7,564 2,398
    Have you looked at the FAQ? - http://queldorei.com/faq.html

    You could try asking on the themeforest forums to see if someone else has used it but they might just tell you to contact the author (original huh?)
     
    Posted: May 10, 2013 By: Faevilangel Member since: Jun 29, 2009
    #3
  4. Clodbuster

    Clodbuster UKBF Enthusiast Full Member

    576 79
    Excellent idea - the official forum is pants.
     
    Posted: May 10, 2013 By: Clodbuster Member since: Apr 24, 2008
    #4
  5. seoswat

    seoswat UKBF Enthusiast Full Member - Verified Business

    577 122
    Very good idea, its the platform that has the steepest learning curve but its the platform that can deliver the most.
     
    Posted: May 10, 2013 By: seoswat Member since: Nov 20, 2011
    #5
  6. apricot

    apricot UKBF Regular Free Member

    294 23
    Yes, i have tried both fqa & forum & send emails to admin. My issues hanging for 3 days and i can't use the website before i fix them
    ..Anyone?
     
    Posted: May 11, 2013 By: apricot Member since: Apr 7, 2012
    #6
  7. seoswat

    seoswat UKBF Enthusiast Full Member - Verified Business

    577 122
    you just need to go into the styles.css file and change the placement of the nav for that template
     
    Posted: May 11, 2013 By: seoswat Member since: Nov 20, 2011
    #7
  8. jamie1183

    jamie1183 UKBF Ace Free Member

    1,076 95
    It looks like the homepage is using 2 column right layout, so you would need to change that in the XML to 2 Column left as a start, as this is a responsive design theme you have abit more work to do and check its set for each layout correctly.
     
    Posted: May 12, 2013 By: jamie1183 Member since: Jan 13, 2008
    #8
  9. Garryt

    Garryt UKBF Newcomer Full Member

    6 2
    Many of our customers use Magento and think it's great, especially as our CRM software BusinessMan, can integrate to it. They really believe it saves them hours by having Magento seamlessly integrated to their live stock in their BusinessMan CRM system.

    Please let me kmow if you would like any more info :)
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2013
    Posted: May 13, 2013 By: Garryt Member since: Jan 17, 2013
    #9
  10. Andrew Baker

    Andrew Baker Director @ GetSquare / Magento Solution Specialist Full Member - Verified Business

    776 284
    Excellent idea, looking forward to sharing our knowledge...
     
    Posted: May 14, 2013 By: Andrew Baker Member since: Jun 7, 2011
    #10
  11. dx3webs

    dx3webs UKBF Regular Full Member

    426 110
  12. edmondscommerce

    edmondscommerce Magento + PHP Expert Full Member - Verified Business

    3,646 624
    Yep a good idea though its even more tabs I'm going to have to have open now!
     
    Posted: May 17, 2013 By: edmondscommerce Member since: Nov 11, 2008
    #12
  13. jamie1183

    jamie1183 UKBF Ace Free Member

    1,076 95
    Been away from the forums for a while with heavy project commitments, but hoping to start to contribute more again this year, look forward to catching up with anyone in the Magento world.
     
    Posted: Jan 2, 2014 By: jamie1183 Member since: Jan 13, 2008
    #13
  14. Ollie Wright

    Ollie Wright UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    1 0
    Hi, complete newby to this here!

    We currently use Magento to run our online shop and it is now being integrated to our eBay shop too. But as we have got busier and taken on more staff, we now have any one of 4-5 members of staff with Magento open and we all tend to print our own orders off as we put them on. What is causing a problem is that when a web order comes through, it is not always picked up on and printed off, and this is only going to get worse as eBay becomes integrated.

    What I am asking in a very round about way is, does anyone know of a bolt on/add on for Magento that we can use that will do one of the following:

    1) Change the colour of the background behind an order once it has been printed?

    2) Add an extra step in to the order completion process, at the moment it is submit, ship, invoice and it will then show completed, or just ship in the case of web orders. If there was an extra step in there for printing before it showed as complete, that would work too.

    This is a bit of a long shot, but perhaps someone out there can help me with this!!

    Cheers Ollie
     
    Posted: Jun 16, 2015 By: Ollie Wright Member since: Jun 16, 2015
    #14
  15. Roman_Y.

    Roman_Y. UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    3 0
    Hello Ollie,
    I think that the only one way to solve your problem is:
    - to create a custom extension, specially for your site and your business logic. This extension should add extra step into order completion and help you to print out your order.
    Unfortunately there is no such a basic extension with similar functionality, that's why it should be customized.
     
    Posted: Feb 4, 2016 By: Roman_Y. Member since: Jan 22, 2016
    #15
  16. Countrymun

    Countrymun UKBF Contributor Free Member

    85 14
    Hi Ollie
    This thread is old but it would be good to know if you found a solution.
    At the moment, I check towards the end of the day by counting the number of orders showing against the number of invoices showing that day and then check that we have despatch notices to match.
    Not ideal but it seems to work for me. Obviously we don't always ship an order same day (ie if it arrives after despatch cut off time) so I only count orders from a certain time for 24 hours.
    The other thing I check is whether an order says processing or completed since it doesn't allow completion unless the invoice has been created - and our rule is that when you create invoice you must print it off at the exact same time.
    It would be good to know if others have an easier fix for this.
    best wishes
    susan
     
    Posted: Aug 18, 2017 By: Countrymun Member since: Sep 13, 2014
    #16