Late payment legislation

Discussion in 'Legal' started by visagephoto, Feb 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. visagephoto

visagephoto UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

592 54
    I'm a self employed photographer, and seven years ago I became a member of a trade association, Last year I decided not to continue my membership, and despite receiving a couple of invoices I didn't pay my annual subscription when it became due on September, assuming that my membership would lapse.

In January I received a payment demand from a debt collection company, which included a late payment of commercial debts penalty of £48.00 + interest, which as far as I'm aware only applies to business to business agreements. I contacted the trade association who reminded (informed) me that they operate a rolling membership, which requires three months notice to quit. Anyway the payment demand stated that if the total amount £151.83 wasn't paid within seven days, the debt would be registered with a credit reference agency, and as I had just applied for a new merchant account, I couldn't let that happen, so I paid in full.

membership to this organisation is open to full time, part time, employed and self employed professional and semi-professional photographers including students, I could close my business and seek employment as a photographer and it would have no effect on my membership.

I am now wondering if this debt should have been exempt from the above legislation as the application process and T&C's are identical for all members regardless of status, and on checking my original application I realised it's in my personal name and not my business name, at my home address (which was also my business address), The only reference to my business name was in the email address I provided, However I had to pay my annual subscriptions with a business cheque as I don't have a personal chequebook.

Posted: Feb 15, 2008 By: visagephoto Member since: Apr 15, 2004