General Business Forum Brought to you by Square

Landlord wants me out

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by mcsean, Feb 8, 2018.

1. mcsean

mcsean UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    I have been renting for about two years in the same place, always paid my rent on time etc.

In December, my landlord gave me notice that he wanted to rent the entire floor to a new tenant and I would need to move. Basically he would get a lot more money renting the entire floor which was mostly vacant and he decided to do the renovations, which included demolishing my corner office!

This was fine but a bit awkward. I have to admit I was a bit peeved as I only got a months notice. Anyway, I checked with him to see if there was anywhere else in building I could move and he came up with another area for me which I moved into on Saturday 20th January. My office has since been demolished.

Just today, he decided that while the builders are at it, they should remove the ceiling from the area in which I am in an I would need to vacate the premises next week. This puts me in a really bad position as on the back of moving into the new area I have committed to completing work by the end of March.

I've always got on well with the landlord but I think he is really taking advantage of me now and suiting himself. Is there anyway I can push back against this behavior or is it better to just move on?

Posted: Feb 8, 2018 By: mcsean Member since: Feb 8, 2018
  2. XombiCreative

XombiCreative UKBF Contributor Free Member

43 8
    Did you sign a tenancy agreement? If you haven't there is not a lot you can do, other than talking to him and coming up with some kind of mutual agreement. A weeks notice is not on though at all.

Posted: Feb 8, 2018 By: XombiCreative Member since: Dec 20, 2017
  3. mcsean

mcsean UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    Hi XombiCreative,