Is Spongebob plan right for me?

Discussion in 'Insolvency' started by Dubya, Sep 30, 2019.

1. Dubya

Dubya UKBF Newcomer Free Member

14 1
    Depressed newbie here, please be gentle : )
    I have a Ltd Company for IT contracting but have been out of work since June 2018 and am about to hit the buffers personally. I looked for help today and was advised to google Spongebob Plan, so here I am. I have read everything I can find on these forums and it feels like SB plan may be perfect for me.
    I have:
    No cash in the business account
    5.8k Directors Loan Account overdrawn (HMRC know about this as we filed my 2018 accounts a few weeks ago and my accountant obviously included it in the accounts.
    No creditors except HMRC
    CT of £6k is due tomorrow (1/10/2019)
    £375 owed in VAT
    Assets are limted to my Laptop, a monitor and some IT peripherals (likely total circa £1500-2000)
    Company is effectively 'dormant' although my accountant has dragged their feet and still haven't produced my dormancy accounts.
    I haven't invoiced anyone since June 2018 so I effectively stopped trading then.

I don't have any money personally and I am just about surviving on some rental income from a buy-to-let flat I bought a few years ago when the going was good. I am selling my main residence to pay off personal debt, downsize into the BTL flat and get all the monkeys off my back. Neither my company or I can afford to pay the CT.
    Any advice would be very gratefully received.
    Many thanks.

Last edited: Sep 30, 2019
    Posted: Sep 30, 2019 By: Dubya Member since: Sep 30, 2019
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

21,996 2,586
    The company has assets to cover the debt, just you cannot pay the major asset (the directors loan account).

You can try the spongebob plan, expect HMRC to object (they usually do when they are owed money). Eventually companies house ignore objections and allow the company to be dissolved.