Importing 1000 calendars from China - what are costs?

Discussion in 'International Business' started by Lkolster, Jun 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lkolster

Lkolster UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    I am an artist and producing 1000 calendars in Shenzhen of my drawings and planning on getting them shipped over to the UK to sell for next year

The quotes I have received I are CIFS and come to around $1900 USD, though seem to vary quite a bit, from $50-150 USD.

This is my first time importing anything and it is all quite foreign to me.

I would like to know what the main and possible hidden charges which i'll have to pay upon it arriving at port in the UK, given the small quantity and type of my product.

***How much would the import duty be? ( i have looked on HM revenue & customs but cannot see how to work this amount out for my product)

***I assume I will have to pay VAT which is based on total invoice amount?

***Are there fees for customs clearance and port handlings?

***Will i need an import license and if so how much will this be

***What documentation if any would i need in preparation of arrival of my shipment?

***what sort of total estimates could i expect for bringing my product to my door?

Any othere things i should be aware of - please advise me

Many thanks to anyone who can help me

Lilian

Posted: Jun 25, 2010 By: Lkolster Member since: Jun 25, 2010
  2. AnnieUK

AnnieUK UKBF Contributor Free Member

30 1
    Hi,

import duty tax is calculated as

goods value * (duty rate/(100+duty rate))

now goods value, there are 6 methods to calculated that, you should always start from using the 1st method, if it can't give you an value ,you then go to the second and the third and so on.

i don't think yours is that complex (this is only my opinion)

the cost should include your cost for goods and freight cost and any other cost invovled to bring the goods to UK.