Import Duty + VAT, Invoiced already?

Discussion in 'International Business' started by FirstTimeImporter, Jul 9, 2020.

1. FirstTimeImporter

FirstTimeImporter UKBF Newcomer Free Member

5 0
    So it's my first time importing a container load from overseas. The goods have not yet arrived in the UK. They'll arrive at the port Sunday evening. I just received an invoice from my freight forwarder asking for payment for the Duty + VAT. The amounts requested were expected and not the issue. The question I have is why has the freight forwarder sent me an invoice before the goods have even landed in the UK?
    It's Thursday today, goods will arrive at the port on Sunday.
    Does this mean they've already pre-cleared the goods and the amounts to be paid are known?

Any insight here would be helpful.

Posted: Jul 9, 2020 By: FirstTimeImporter Member since: Jul 9, 2020
  2. MY OFFICE IN CHINA

MY OFFICE IN CHINA UKBF Legend Full Member

5,610 1,319
    Your Freight Forwarder has all the documents to calculate the Import Duty & VAT, as well as their charges.

Pay it when requested to avoid any delays in the container getting cleared and delivered to your warehouse.

Good luck with your first container!

Posted: Jul 9, 2020 By: MY OFFICE IN CHINA Member since: Nov 16, 2011
  3. FirstTimeImporter

FirstTimeImporter UKBF Newcomer Free Member

5 0
    Ah so they've calculated based off the documents. The demand from customs hasn't yet been made you think? You are saying that the freight forwarder is just making sure they have the money in advance ready to make the payment when due? Am I correct?

I was wondering if there was some sort of pre-clearance where they've already lodged the entries and got the clearance etc

Posted: Jul 9, 2020 By: FirstTimeImporter Member since: Jul 9, 2020
  4. MY OFFICE IN CHINA

5,610 1,319
    My advice is to pay it when you've been asked to pay it, if you want your container quickly without any additional charges.