I seem to have installed Wordpress twice

Discussion in 'Wordpress Support' started by Ian J, May 18, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ian J

    Ian J Factoring Specialist Full Member - Verified Business

    6,063 1,975
    I was looking at Softaculous and it seems that I have installed Wordpress twice on one of my websites.

    Looking at the installations of http://www.factoring-broker.org.uk I have:-

    /home/login_name/public_html/factoring-broker.org.uk and database name ianj1802_wp974

    Plus

    /home/login_name/public_html/factoring-broker.org.uk and database name ianj1802_wp38

    Is this a problem as whilst the website displays as it should it could be upsetting Lord Google
     
    Posted: May 18, 2018 By: Ian J Member since: Nov 6, 2004
    #1
  2. Mike Hayes

    Mike Hayes UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

    1,133 314
    As both installations have been made in the same directory, you probably just need to:
    • Remove the unused database (check wp-config.php file to confirm which database is being used for your installation).
    • Remove the dead installation from Softaculous.
    That said, as it's only one active website, this won't upset Google.
     
    Posted: May 18, 2018 By: Mike Hayes Member since: Jan 7, 2016
    #2
  3. Ian J

    Ian J Factoring Specialist Full Member - Verified Business

    6,063 1,975
    Many thanks.
     
    Posted: May 18, 2018 By: Ian J Member since: Nov 6, 2004
    #3
  4. Mike Hayes

    Mike Hayes UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

    1,133 314
    Sorry, I should have stated, when removing the 'dead' / duplicate installation from Softaculous, make sure to UNCHECK the "Remove Directory" option ! As both are pointed at the same directory this will of course remove your live installation directory.

    I'm surprised Softaculous would allow you to install WordPress in the same directory as an existing Softaculous installation, seems like a potential recipe for disaster when removing the duplicate. The software should really demand that the target directory is empty. I might test this tonight and propose the change to them (#FunFridays :D).
     
    Posted: May 18, 2018 By: Mike Hayes Member since: Jan 7, 2016
    #4
  5. Ian J

    Ian J Factoring Specialist Full Member - Verified Business

    6,063 1,975
    Fortunately I spotted that and unchecked it "just in case"
     
    Posted: May 18, 2018 By: Ian J Member since: Nov 6, 2004
    #5
  6. Speedydot

    Speedydot UKBF Contributor Free Member

    37 0
    Hey Ian,

    If both versions are still as fresh installs, why not simply remove both and re-install. Probably be the easiest way and you won't have the trouble to check the config files and all sorts. You'll save some time doing so and be able to get a fresh version back up.

    Hopefully by now, you've sorted it though :)

    Kind regards
     
    Posted: Jun 3, 2018 By: Speedydot Member since: Mar 23, 2018
    #6
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.