How do I record transactions in cash with private individuals who don’t give me receipts or invoice?

Omar22

Free Member
Oct 17, 2021
Hi everyone this my first post here and I just had some general queries. As someone who wants to be a reseller and has started reselling video games and electronics to other businesses and through online marketplaces, would it make more sense for me to register as a sole trader or a Ltd company. I may intend in the future to bring my brother in as an employee to help me. Does this change whether I should register as a sole trader or Ltd company? Also when buying stock most is done with cash and in person with people I have met from either gumtree or other online forums. How would I have to record these transactions as most of these sellers don’t provide receipts or invoices and are even reluctant to share their name or address with me and how would this differ in regards to whether I was a sole trader or a Ltd company? Finally I do intend to scale this business to where I would be buying large amounts of inventory weekly which would involve large amounts of cash as well as possibly having to register for VAT. So would me continuing to buy from private individuals in person and with cash when they wont provide me a receipt or invoice and give me their personal details (name and address) be a problem for me trying to book keep and record my transactions to show HMRC. Would switching to a business account help with this as it would be easier to see the cash being withdrawn to buy stock and when it happened?

Scalloway

Free Member
Jun 6, 2010
Shetland Islands
would it make more sense for me to register as a sole trader or a Ltd company.

If you are just starting up I would suggest being a sole trader. The formalities are a lot less than a limited company needs.

in the future to bring my brother in as an employee to help me. Does this change whether I should register as a sole trader or Ltd company?