Hiring remotely

Discussion in 'Employment & HR' started by Paul FilmMaker, Jul 5, 2021.

1. Paul FilmMaker

Paul FilmMaker Contributor

231 74
    So I'm returning from 6 months out (hospitalised due to Covid) and getting back into the saddle. The video production business is picking up tremendously although I'd probably say that has something to do with not being in a hospital!

Now I'm thinking about hiring someone as a 'first hire' in Kosovo next year. I have some experience of hiring employees in my previous business but my issue is bizarrely that everyone I hired was fantastic. One of my customers nicknamed my worst hire 'Del Boy' because she was a bit too close to Derek Trotter for comfort and we had a few laughs at her expense but she still did a good job. So I have no idea what can potentially go wrong as the last 4 people (in my previous business) were all outstanding.

So that being said, I'm thinking of making my first hire in Kosovo. I want to focus on a marketing person (with a touch of sales) and put them in an office shared with another business which has some kind of infrastructure and most importantly, a couple of other people working there. Having worked 'solo' before, I see 'loneliness' as a major issue and it's great to have infrastructure and some kind of resource on the ground.

Otherwise, what do you suggest I think about? What's important? What do I need to think about? And Kosovo because it's cheap!

Posted: Jul 5, 2021 By: Paul FilmMaker Member since: Aug 29, 2018
  2. Newchodge

Newchodge Contributor

15,871 4,466
    You need to understand Kosovo employment, tax and social security laws. You need to understand whether you will have to have a 'tax entity' in the country as you will be genrating income from there.

Posted: Jul 5, 2021 By: Newchodge Member since: Nov 8, 2012
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
  3. SEO Developer

SEO Developer UKBF Regular

266 38
    You're in luck @Paul FilmMaker