Hi can someone help...wordpress slugs ,seo

Discussion in 'Wordpress Support' started by useitorloseit, May 3, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. useitorloseit

    useitorloseit UKBF Newcomer

    17 1
    Hi oops did post it in the seo forum

    probably better here
    I am going from a html site to a wordpress site

    I am adding categories in the wordpress site, but in the slug field , do I post the url from my old site , or just description , the old site has very good seo...dont want to lose it as I move over to wordpress

    thanks for your help in advance
     
    Posted: May 3, 2016 By: useitorloseit Member since: Mar 29, 2007
    #1
  2. Tony Balthazar

    Tony Balthazar UKBF Newcomer

    29 7
    The slug field is where you'd add the url buddy.
     
    Posted: May 3, 2016 By: Tony Balthazar Member since: Sep 9, 2015
    #2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. fisicx

    fisicx Moderator
    Verified Business ✔️
    Contributor

    34,376 10,537
    Not correct. The slug is the sanitised name of the category not the URL.

    If you want to keep all your ranking you need to replicate the site exactly. It's a whole lot more than just doing the categories
     
    Posted: May 3, 2016 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. useitorloseit

    useitorloseit UKBF Newcomer

    17 1
    Hi Fisicx , thats what i thought it was , as does not show the full url in slug
     
    Posted: May 3, 2016 By: useitorloseit Member since: Mar 29, 2007
    #4
  5. fisicx

    fisicx Moderator
    Verified Business ✔️
    Contributor

    34,376 10,537
    The url for the categories is set up in the permalinks. Go to Settings > permalinks and select the appropriate option. If the URL structure you want isn't there you can create your own: https://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Permalinks
     
    Posted: May 3, 2016 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #5
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. useitorloseit

    useitorloseit UKBF Newcomer

    17 1
    thanks fisicx , slowly beginning to get my head around it
     
    Posted: May 3, 2016 By: useitorloseit Member since: Mar 29, 2007
    #6
  7. UKSBD

    UKSBD Moderator
    Verified Business ✔️
    Contributor

    10,804 2,210
    if you're moving a static categorised site to Wordpress you need a good understanding of how categories work in Wordpress and ensure you can do what you want to do with them.

    Depending on how the existing site is set up you may find it is better to use a Page to replicate your existing categories.

    Don't just rush in to creating categories without 1st planning out carefully what you are trying to achieve.
     
    Posted: May 3, 2016 By: UKSBD Member since: Dec 30, 2005
    #7
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. fisicx

    fisicx Moderator
    Verified Business ✔️
    Contributor

    34,376 10,537
    Exactly. Creating categories is the last thing on the lists of things to do. The first job is to import all the content as posts and pages. Then get the titles sorted. Then do the navigation, the headers and footers and all the internal linking. Once you have that sorted you can put each of the posts into categories (you can't categorise a page).

    Then you need to set up 301's for all the key pages form the old site to the new. This last step is vital. Miss this one and all you ranking will dissapear overnight.
     
    Posted: May 4, 2016 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #8
  9. Tony Balthazar

    Tony Balthazar UKBF Newcomer

    29 7
    Hey Fisicx, Thanks for pulling me up there, I was using pretty flippant in terms f explanation. I didn't consider the confusion I would have caused, and assumed far too much knowledge from the reader... Vital lesson learned ... Cheers & I really do mean it :eek:)
     
    Posted: May 4, 2016 By: Tony Balthazar Member since: Sep 9, 2015
    #9
  10. PGBS

    PGBS UKBF Newcomer

    2 0
    You should replicate same urls of your HTML website in the slug field. If you change the urls it might affect your KW positioning
     
    Posted: Jun 22, 2016 By: PGBS Member since: Feb 26, 2016
    #10
  11. fisicx

    fisicx Moderator
    Verified Business ✔️
    Contributor

    34,376 10,537
    The url is not the same as the slug. Changing the URLS won't affect anything if your 301s are done properly.
     
    Posted: Jun 22, 2016 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #11
  12. Rakesh Yadav

    Rakesh Yadav UKBF Newcomer

    29 1
    You should follow the same category slug as your old website is having. You can also use Settings > Permalink to control the format of the link.
    If you feel that some categories are better to be renamed then do that and use 301 redirects, but don't do it for high ranking categories as you may loose ranking if you change the main keywords from the category slug.
     
    Posted: Jul 24, 2016 By: Rakesh Yadav Member since: Jul 23, 2016
    #12
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.