Here we go again - site email system failure

Discussion in 'Wordpress Support' started by Davek0974, Dec 6, 2019.

  1. Davek0974

    Davek0974 UKBF Ace Free Member

    2,540 308
    Krystal Hosting
     
    Posted: Dec 10, 2019 By: Davek0974 Member since: Mar 7, 2008
    #41
  2. Davek0974

    Davek0974 UKBF Ace Free Member

    2,540 308
    Update...

    Tech from the hosts suggested doing a test by removing the QCF plugin and installing these...
    Contact Form 7
    Easy WP SMTP
    Flamingo

    It actually works perfectly with this setup so its staying for the present.

    Its a bit disappointing because i now have three plugins doing the job of one, but if it works, it works.

    Flamingo is used to log and retrieve the messages in case they fail.

    Uses hidden reCaptcha v3 as well.

    Still have no idea why the QCF plugin fails on my server, no way i can find out i guess.
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: Davek0974 Member since: Mar 7, 2008
    #42
  3. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    32,360 9,573
    What version of PHP are you using?

    It's been discovered that PHP7.4 is causing problems. You should really just be using it as a test platform for now.

    QCF has 4 captcha functions. It's pretty secure.
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #43
  4. NickGrogan

    NickGrogan UKBF Ace Full Member

    2,451 583
    7.0.33 seems to give errors
    7.2.18 seems to work fine

    Not sure why I have two PHP versions on the same host...
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: NickGrogan Member since: Nov 15, 2012
    #44
  5. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    32,360 9,573
    PHP7 is now out of support, 7.2 and 7.3 are the preferred versions.

    You can change the PHP version on you site(s) in your cpanel using the 'Multi PHP Manager' tool.
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #45
  6. Davek0974

    Davek0974 UKBF Ace Free Member

    2,540 308
    Running PHP 7.2.25

    Have been for some time now.
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: Davek0974 Member since: Mar 7, 2008
    #46
  7. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    32,360 9,573
    So that's that idea in the bin.
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #47
  8. Davek0974

    Davek0974 UKBF Ace Free Member

    2,540 308
    Its never simple when it comes to me ;)
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: Davek0974 Member since: Mar 7, 2008
    #48
  9. NickGrogan

    NickGrogan UKBF Ace Full Member

    2,451 583
    OK, another issue found/fixed.

    Do you have anything entered for the From Address on the Send Options tab?

    I had entered my email address, but when I installed "Post SMTP" it logged the following error.

    Invalid "From" e-mail address ""[email protected]""

    Double Quotes???

    I removed the email address and test emails are sending correctly.

    I also removed the email address from the Autoresponse settings and they seem to be working to.

    Let me know how you get on.

    The form is here

    https://www.energybrokers.co.uk/contact

    If anyone wants to try it and let us know if you get an autoreply. Just put "test" in the message area.
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: NickGrogan Member since: Nov 15, 2012
    #49
  10. Davek0974

    Davek0974 UKBF Ace Free Member

    2,540 308
    Form worked ok here.

    On my one the from-address had to be an account on the same domain
     
    Posted: Dec 12, 2019 By: Davek0974 Member since: Mar 7, 2008
    #50
  11. NickGrogan

    NickGrogan UKBF Ace Full Member

    2,451 583
    What happens if you leave it blank?
     
    Posted: Dec 13, 2019 By: NickGrogan Member since: Nov 15, 2012
    #51
  12. Davek0974

    Davek0974 UKBF Ace Free Member

    2,540 308
    The form won't save if its blank.
     
    Posted: Dec 13, 2019 By: Davek0974 Member since: Mar 7, 2008
    #52