Help with VAT owed to HMRC sole trader

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by Clairew1, Jan 20, 2020.

1. Clairew1

Clairew1 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

6 0
    Hi. Newbie here and this is a cry for help for my Mum.
    My mum is a sole trader cleaning business which I now manage for her as she is not mobile anymore. I have my own commercial cleaning business.. seperate..
    Dad does the accounts. Usually very good!!.

Mum recieved a compliance Vat check back in October 2019 which has now revealed they were £2000 over the Vat threshold for 2017 and £6000 over for 2018 they have now been hit with a bill of £30000 and £6000 penalty. They can not afford to pay this and are now worried they wont get TTP and dont want to go Bankrupt. There in their late 60s and 70s so you can imagine really worrying.
    They have now instructed an accountant who has advised they should go back to all the clients and ask if they will pay what's owed from 2017?. They are all VAT eligible. We are concerned we may lose these long standing clients of 12 years?. If we ask for it. What do you think???.
    This has been a genuine mistake.

Mum provides a lot of stock such has consumables. Hand towels soaps and toilet rolls. for all clients and didnt realise that this would be classed as profit as she buys it and charges them on invoice then receives the money back from the client. Also a few times they had the carpet cleaned from a sub contractor but the cost went through her books.
    What can she do I dont know how to help. She isnt really earning very much anymore due to having employees and myself cleaning. There is no way they can pay this back over 12 months. Really wish she had gone ltd. Very hard lesson to learn.
    All advice welcome.

Posted: Jan 20, 2020 By: Clairew1 Member since: Jan 20, 2020
  2. Lisa Thomas

Lisa Thomas UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

3,347 407
    Options: