Getting Thoroughly Done for Road Freight

Discussion in 'International Business' started by Ray272, Jul 6, 2020.

1. Ray272

Ray272 UKBF Regular Free Member

313 43
    My error has been to use the same forwarder for way too long due to their billing system being really neat and tidy. Pricing was always real competitive until the last year and now a pallet to Sweden which would have cost £125 12 months ago is now being quoted at £195.

I am shocked as I have been using the same company for nearly 5 years, they have never assessed the pallets we send and provided some form of fixed pricing to make the process smoother.

I understand there is the corona virus to contend with as a reason for such inflation but it just seems like I am paying way too much.

Anyone want to shout out some good road freight firms?

Posted: Jul 6, 2020 By: Ray272 Member since: Jul 5, 2017
  2. Mike Foulds

Mike Foulds UKBF Contributor Free Member

49 16
    Hi Ray.

We handle alot of cargo too/from Scandinavia. Whilst we don't run our own vehicles, we have some very competitive contract rates with multiple carriers, meaning we can pick and chose the best rate for each destination.

I would, however, comment that, as you mention, prices at the moment have definitely risen quite dramatically, and, TBH, I don't think £195 is an extreme cost in the current conditions.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2020
    Posted: Jul 6, 2020 By: Mike Foulds Member since: Mar 21, 2018
  3. Ray272

Ray272 UKBF Regular Free Member

313 43
    Hi Mike

Can you explain how you have been impacted?

The reason I ask is I received this email this morning from another forwarder:

I hope you’re well & had a great weekend.

Rates continue to fall back into to pre-crisis levels & volumes seem to be coming back into the market which is positive.

We continue to work 7 days a week to support any & all shipping requirements.