EXW vs DPD (importing from China)

Discussion in 'International Business' started by Luke KSC, Apr 17, 2021.

1. Luke KSC

Luke KSC UKBF Newcomer Free Member

10 0
    Hi all,

It is my first time importing from China so I am just looking for some help with what to do next.

I have negotiated a price for the product that we want from a company on Alibaba. I have done my due dilligence and based on the research I have done, they seem like a respectable company. I have placed a test order of 200 pieces and if the consistencty and the quality of the product is at an acceptable standard I would place a larger order in future.

They gave me 2 options on shipping: EXW or DDP.

I understand that EXW means I sort everything out.

The total weight of the shipment is 192kgs and they have quoted DDP at USD545.60.

I have read some issues regarding DDP and some with EXW.

What companies should I get to get a quote for EXW? or should I just use the DDP option that they are offering?
    I don't mind paying a little more for the convenience of receiving the products directly to my door.

Thanks
    Luke

Posted: Apr 17, 2021 By: Luke KSC Member since: Apr 17, 2021
  2. MY OFFICE IN CHINA

MY OFFICE IN CHINA UKBF Legend Free Member

5,658 1,343
    What's the total value of the goods including shipping charges?

What's the weight and dimensions of each carton?

Posted: Apr 17, 2021 By: MY OFFICE IN CHINA Member since: Nov 16, 2011
  3. Larry Fong

Larry Fong UKBF Contributor Full Member

85 8
    If the order quantity is small, DDP would not be an big issue. If you order a large quantity, then you can make some saving in cost and potentially more flexibility such as arrange quality inspection and logistics.

Posted: Apr 17, 2021 By: Larry Fong Member since: Dec 16, 2020
  4. Luke KSC

10 0
    one box size is260x240x40mm, one piece weight is 890g, and 17pcs in one carton, carton size is 59x29x32cm, one carton weight is 16kgs.
    so 200pcs total 12pcs carton, weight is 192kgs.