General Business Forum Brought to you by Salesforce

Expanding my business at 16

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Kyle Curran, May 22, 2020.

1. Kyle Curran

Kyle Curran UKBF Newcomer Free Member

17 1
    Since I was 14, I have been selling cupcakes and cakes from my home to the public. In 2019, I decided to take my business in a different direction - I registered with Companies House and began selling pre-packed baked goods to dessert stores. At one point I had a customer who took £500 a week in orders but this caused problems for me as I operated from my home kitchen which is painfully small, leading to me cutting ties with this customer as I could not keep up with the demand and did not have the space.

Now I have been working with customers taking smaller orders for the past 5 months and have decided it is right to expand as I am reaching my kitchens capacity. I am going to view an industrial unit next week which, if all goes well, I will move into. The rent and service charge will cost £66 per week (including VAT) and utilities are subject to usage. I have estimated that between £5000-6000 will be needed to buy all the equipment.

My questions to the forum are:
    1. What are the questions I should be asking when visiting the unit?
    2. Are there any grants or funding you know of that would be available to myself? (Many are not applicable due to my age)
    3. Is crowdfunding even worth a thought?

Thanks, Kyle :)

Last edited: May 22, 2020
    Posted: May 22, 2020 By: Kyle Curran Member since: Dec 29, 2018
  2. ryedale

ryedale Contributor Full Member - Verified Business

1,548 369
    £66 a month for a unit including VAT and service charge - are you sure about that?

Well done on the business growth though!

Posted: May 22, 2020 By: ryedale Member since: Dec 17, 2013
  3. Kyle Curran

17 1
    My mistake its actually £66 per week.

Thanks!

4. Scalloway

Scalloway UKBF Legend Free Member

16,188 3,420