Dismissed due to ill health - Capibility - Plz help

Status
Not open for further replies.

In_need_of_advice

Free Member
Sep 28, 2014
Hello, this is my first time on a forum so please bear with me, I will try not to make it too long winded.

I have been employed by my employer for the last 14 years.

August 2013 I was on stage 1 of the new absence policy that had recently been put in place, (it is the standard trigger points policy), also in August 2013 my husband of 16 years up and left me no warning, he just went.
As you can imagine this total just blew me away, I am only now just beginning to get over it.

Anyway I kept working because work seemed to be the only thing that kept me going.

I had 2 weeks off shortly after, I wont go into details but the Dr wrote acute stress on sick note.
Then right before Christmas I had a week off with a cold that I got a sick note for because I knew I was on the absence plan, and then in February 2014 I had a fight with my husband this ended up with my shoulder being injured and having 1 month off sick and then 1 month on no manual handling, due to nature of job, all covered by sick notes.

I obviously had exceeded the trigger points so I had a 2nd and then a 3rd absence meeting, I was also seen by OHU.

All correct paperwork had been completed by line manager but the meetings were always quite informal and never not once did I think I would be sacked due to sickness it was also never mentioned that this would be the outcome.

I then received a huge file one day in the post and a letter saying I was to attend a formal absence hearing.
Maybe I was blind to the fact but even then I still did not think that I would be dismissed and yes it did say on the letter that dismissal could be the outcome, but I thought maybe I would get a warning on my file for a year.