Director Self Assessment & Company dissolved

Discussion in 'Insolvency' started by NEWUSERUK, Nov 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NEWUSERUK

NEWUSERUK UKBF Newcomer Free Member

5 0
    Hi all,
    I am seeking urgent advice with regard a very difficult situation and I've been given very different advice by debt consultants, and I'm completely confused.
    I worked as a freelancer and set up a limited company. However, I have no excuse other than I'm bad with paperwork and did not face up to my responsibilities as the director. No tax return or accounts were ever filed during the company existence (2 years).

The company has been dissolved by HMRC early this year. This week, I decided to start clearing all my personal debts, tax debts, and I'm finally dealing with the HMRC letters.
    HMRC is demanding that I file a self assessment on my taxes during the 2-year period as the company's director (along with a hefty penalty fee for overdue self-assessment - fair enough).

The issue is that I paid myself monthly, which I need to declare now. But I don't know how to declare my wages, and file the self- assessment forms without opening a can of worms. My company was dissolved with no assets to liquidate, and I never filed a tax return or accounts.

Should I consider the money that I paid myself as wages, payment dividends or overdrawn DLA. How should I address this for purposes of self assessment? without the HMRC investigating my dissolved company and re-open to claim corporate tax?

I paid myself irregular payments monthly (between £1k - £1.5k), and the total yearly was not over £12k first year, and £22k on the second year. How's the best way to declare?

Many thanks.

Posted: Nov 22, 2017 By: NEWUSERUK Member since: Nov 22, 2017
  2. JohnMusik

JohnMusik UKBF Contributor Free Member

99 5