Delivering an educational service in the USA

Discussion in 'International Business' started by Fire In Your Face, Jan 11, 2021.

1. Fire In Your Face

Fire In Your Face UKBF Newcomer Free Member

13 1
    I've been trying for days to figure out an answer to my question with no luck so far!

I am a fire manipulation instructor and during the pandemic, all my tuition has been online rather than a combination of online/physical workshops. Due to this, I've developed a very large following of Americans and I am hoping to be able to bring my physical services to them this year (covid dependent).

The benefit to this is that my main (and pretty much only) competitor cannot operate there, I believe due to breaching the terms of his visa.

I am looking for a way to legally provide my services, in person in America. I have researched visas and the UK is part of the visa waiver program which allows travel for business reasons. As far as I'm aware, this is intended for things like attending seminars or going to business meetings etc. I am unsure on whether this will cover delivering a paid service in person? I've also looked at getting a visa that would allow me to work and earn money (and pay tax) in the US however this doesn't allow for self employed earning. I would have to be working for someone and have them sponsor me, which would make things super messy.

So the question is, how do I do this legally? Is it possible? I'll give a run down of how it would typically work (if possible) just in case it's relevant...

I advertise my services prior to any fire manipulation workshop and accept payment for it prior to the workshop. No cash is exchanged in hand and all transactions would happen while I'm outside of America. I then meet my students in an indoor venue and teach them how to eat/manipulate fire. No money changes hands while I'm on American soil. The plan is to hold 4 workshops over two weekends in two separate states.