General Business Forum Brought to you by Salesforce

Debt Recovery questions/advice

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by 12Matthew12, Jan 11, 2021.

1. 12Matthew12

12Matthew12 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

11 0
    Hi, I’m hoping you might be able to help me with some questions regarding debt recovery and what you could do to help.

Some background:

I’m a graphic designer, Director of a limited company. I began working with a client (another design company, Ltd) in August 2020, completing a variety of design work for them. The client is a limited company and was/is in the process of transitioning from one company to another. In total I have invoiced them 4 times, 2 invoices have been paid and 2 are outstanding.

The sum of the outstanding invoices is £1500.

We had no official contract, much of the work and costings were discussed via phone and email which is obviously not ideal. I have an email from the client after I sent my invoice where he said there was no issues with the invoice. I also have email correspondence and messages confirming certain costs of jobs which were within the invoice and the email trails of the jobs - so a pretty solid account of the work.

After chasing the client myself multiple times via email and phone I instructed a debt recovery company to issue formal letters, make some calls etc. The standard debt recovery procedures. This company makes their money by recovering Late Payment Fees so I am not out of pocket yet.

I am now in the situation where the debtor has ignored all correspondence from the debt collection company and my next course of action would be through legal means. The cost to start the proceedings would be; the court fee of £105.00 plus solicitors costs of £112.00+VAT = £239.40. The majority of these fees would be recoverable if I were to be successful. However I would need to pay these up front to get proceedings underway.