Cold Emails & Pitching

Discussion in 'Sales, Marketing & PR' started by Paddy Horgan, Mar 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paddy Horgan

Paddy Horgan UKBF Newcomer Free Member

4 0
    Hello All!

Im fairly new on here but im desperately looking for some clarification on contact prospective clients online and via email.

From what i understand, if you can source the email address you can email them on it 'cold' once but you cant keep sending them loads of stuff (witch is fair enough)

However there is apparently some new stuff coming into effect in may that will change this? does anyone have any specifics on what is happening in may and how it will effect cold emailing?

Im very new to business, thanks in advance!!
    Paddy

Posted: Mar 9, 2018 By: Paddy Horgan Member since: Mar 7, 2018
  2. LiveNetworks Ltd

LiveNetworks Ltd UKBF Regular Free Member

203 41
    People will tell you lots of things to sell you an email list but you'll find sending out any sort of mass email will invariably get your ISP or hosting account terminated and your email address, mail server and domain name blacklisted.

Posted: Mar 9, 2018 By: LiveNetworks Ltd Member since: Jan 31, 2018
  3. Paddy Horgan

4 0
    AH Sorry i wasn't very clear.. I am not looking to do mass emailing or marketing campaigns

I am literally looking to find businesses that might need my services and then sending them a direct email to see if they are interested or not.

Each one is personalized and wouldn't be classed as bulk emails.

But they would be completely cold with no previous contact so i am a bit wary on the lawful side of things, i know cold calling has a lot of rules and restrictions but I am struggling to find the do's and dont's for cold emails.

I hope that makes sense?..

4. ffox

ffox UKBF Regular Free Member

1,212 211
    Current regulation is DPA and PECR, new regulations coming in May 2018 is GDPR.

There is quite a lot of discussion on these forums at -