Claiming Expenses - Sole Trader w/ employee

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by lizzy chaplin, Feb 16, 2021.

1. lizzy chaplin

lizzy chaplin UKBF Newcomer Free Member

3 0
    Hi All,

I'm a sole trader with one employee ( who I pay approx £7,000 a year ). My employee works from home and has asked if she would be able to claim back any electricity or internet bills? (She is a sewist)

I understand she doesn't earn enough to pay tax but would she be able to claim back any expenses for her bills? Or is this something I could do for the business as a sole trader?

Thanks in advance!

Posted: Feb 16, 2021 By: lizzy chaplin Member since: Jan 6, 2021
  2. STDFR33

STDFR33 UKBF Big Shot Free Member

4,614 1,232
    You need to pay tax to take advantage of the relief.

Posted: Feb 16, 2021 By: STDFR33 Member since: Aug 7, 2016
  3. MyAccountantOnline

MyAccountantOnline UKBF Legend Full Member

13,388 2,511
    If she doesn't pay any tax she cant actually claim anything back.

I would think the best way to deal with this would be for you to pay an additional amount to cover the costs she's incurring working at home.

Posted: Feb 16, 2021 By: MyAccountantOnline Member since: Sep 24, 2008
  4. lizzy chaplin

lizzy chaplin UKBF Newcomer Free Member

3 0
    Thanks for your quick reply, where do I stand if I pay tax as a business? Can I claim back this way for bills?

Posted: Feb 16, 2021 By: lizzy chaplin Member since: Jan 6, 2021
  5. MyAccountantOnline

MyAccountantOnline UKBF Legend Full Member

13,388 2,511
    This link explains the tax relief which she may be abcould claim if she paid tax
    You can claim expenses to reduce your tax if expenses are wholly and exclusively for the purposes of your trade. I see no issue with you increasing your employees salary to cover her costs whilst working at home.

Posted: Feb 16, 2021 By: MyAccountantOnline Member since: Sep 24, 2008
  6. Trevor Andrews

Trevor Andrews UKBF Newcomer Free Member

23 6