Calculating profit

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by peterb20, Sep 9, 2019.

1. peterb20

peterb20 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

7 0
    I have a logic issue with calculating profit. I have a god damn degree in maths and can't see why one of the following is right and one is wrong! (by the way, I know which is the right one to use, I just don't know why!)

Say I do a job that will cost me £1000. My logic says that to make 20% profit on that job I should charge £1200.

However I also know that profit margins are calculated 'backwards'. Ie the profit margin given a £1200 bill to the customer of which £200 is profit is 200/1200 = 16.6%.

I use the 2nd of these to analyse my business, but I can't see why the 1st isnt acceptable. Are they just arbitrary, so if either is used consistently then it doesn't matter, or should 1 be used over the other (pretty sure I know the answer!). If so, why!

Please help a confused soul!

Posted: Sep 9, 2019 By: peterb20 Member since: Nov 5, 2012
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

16,808 1,881
    Use whatever method you wish for yourself.

When other people are discussing profit that's when I usually hear percentages bandied about. For talking to my wife or accountant generally use cash figure. Such as 'made £1.10 profit on that sale'.

Posted: Sep 10, 2019 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
  3. alan1302

alan1302 UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

552 99
    Why do you think one could be wrong?

Posted: Sep 10, 2019 By: alan1302 Member since: Jun 2, 2018
  4. NicoJ

NicoJ UKBF Regular Free Member

128 16
    Both are correct, the first is mark-up, generally easier to calculate (as you are calculating on a known price).
    The second is margin, which is the amount you earned on the total amount. Generally used by accountants at the end of the year.

Posted: Sep 10, 2019 By: NicoJ Member since: Mar 27, 2017
  5. peterb20

7 0