Building dispute with a limited company

Discussion in 'Legal' started by betamaxbandit, Oct 22, 2018.

1. betamaxbandit

betamaxbandit UKBF Newcomer Free Member

6 1
    I'm a sole trader and work from home.

I entered into a contract with a builder, a limited company, to renovate my home. I paid him a deposit before work commenced and then staged payments while work was progressing, totalling £X. I moved out of the property, into temporary accommodation, while work was progressing (I'm still there). The contract had a clause that work should be completed by Z date and the builder would ensure the property was habitable by that date. Work was very sporadic and despite me agreeing to extend the moving in date, having numerous meetings with the builder and seeing broken promises, work still did not progress without any explanation from the builder. In the end I terminated the contract because of breach of contract.

I'm now wondering what the best thing to do is. The work done so far amounts to approximately £Y, as assessed by a chartered surveyor. There's no roof on my house and its completely uninhabitable. The builder has stated he's getting out of the building industry so I expect him to wind the company up very shortly.

£X - £Y = several tens of thousands of pounds.

If I make a court claim, I'm anxious that because its a limited company I'm dealing with, even though I have a good case, I won't get any money back. Looking up the builder on beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/ I see he has in the last few months created a few new companies, perhaps using my money to fund them.

Any suggestions how can I get my money back, which I need to rebuild my home and carry on with my business please?

Posted: Oct 22, 2018 By: betamaxbandit Member since: Oct 22, 2018
  2. SteLacca

SteLacca UKBF Ace Free Member

1,038 196
    You can object to any strike off application whilst you pursue your claim.

Posted: Oct 22, 2018 By: SteLacca Member since: Jun 16, 2016
  3. Mr D