Bonus impasse between company directors

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by BlueSky2019, Jul 13, 2019.

1. BlueSky2019

BlueSky2019 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

11 0
    Newbie here and not sure really where to start. My husband and his business partner set up a company approx 10 years ago. BP and his wife, husband and myself have 25% shares each. Husband and BP manage the business 50/50.

They have been through peaks and troughs over the years but have generally made a reasonable living and provided well for their 10 employees.

However since Brexit was declared BP has become all consumed by it, even to the point of losing sleep. Husband is far more pragmatic and fundamentally believes that as they have no control, they just need to get on with things.

To cut a long story short, because BP is so worried, he has blocked any bonus between the 2 of them for the last 2 years! This, despite making a good profit, so many orders they can barely keep up and a more than healthy sum sat in the bank and increasing.
    On top of this they both work insane hours and have all the responsibility without any of the reward. They pay themselves a fairly modest salary which is not much more than a middle manager would earn and minus a lot of the grief.

It is stale mate. Husband doesn’t want to take a large amount, just enough to make it all a little more worthwhile. Yet BP thinks we’re all going to hell in a handcart and therefore refuses to let any bonuses be made. I understand his fears but he seems to have lost all perspective.
    Apart from Brexit, it also seems that BP makes all the financial decisions but whereas in the past there was some compromise, he has totally shut down on this one.

Does anyone have any experience of a similar situation where equal BPs have opposing views or advice. I generally have a very handsoff approach but am at end of my tether with this impasse. Husband is exhausted and quite frankly questioning why he’s even bothering.