Advice on how to deal with the OR during interview - please help

Discussion in 'Insolvency' started by Spencer123456, Feb 7, 2020.

1. Spencer123456

Spencer123456 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    Hi - I am a director of a limited company. I was the only employee/director. I worked as a contractor for a manufacturing firm. Then work dried up and contract was finished 5 years ago meaning trading stopped. Ever since the company did not trade at all, i.e. no moneys came in/went out of the company. Up until that point I was using an accountant. Then I stopped paying the accountants fee as company not trading. Nil year-end accounts were filed ever since company stopped trading. The company has no realisable assets. I have now been contacted by the Insolvency Service explaining that I need to attend interview with the OR. I did not know that a winding up order had been served and a court hearing had been held. I spoke over the phone with the OR and he indicated that the company owes HMRC over £25K which I believe is wrong and I do not recognise. Since I did not attend the court hearing I could not challenge this. Please I need advice on how to best prepare for the interview. I worry about the outcome and whether it will affect me personally

Posted: Feb 7, 2020 By: Spencer123456 Member since: Feb 7, 2020
  2. Lisa Thomas

Lisa Thomas UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

3,515 445
    You just need to complete their questionnaire and answer their queries honestly.

The £25k debt may be estimated (and might include penalties and interest) if no returns have been submitted to HMRC for 5 years so this might be why there is a discrepancy.

To answer your question about how it might affect you, the Liquidator will investigate the reasons for insolvency and your conduct.

They can pursue you for recovery if you have committed misconduct and will submit a report on your conduct to the Insolvecy Services.