$150,000 stolen from Chinese worker - Any chance of recovering?

Discussion in 'Legal' started by Aaron MB, Oct 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aaron MB

Aaron MB UKBF Newcomer Free Member

3 0
    Hello,

I have been working with a person in China for the past 3 years. He sources products for me and we had developed a close working relationship.

I foolishly paid money into a Hong Kong company bank account that he had control over (I do not), as he had been making payments to the suppliers this way.

It's a long story, but gearing up for Christmas, there had been around $150,000 in this account that was meant for stock purchases. He confessed and ultimately said he blew it on gambling and wants to get a second job and pay me back.

I'm not expecting repayment but if it happens I'm not going to stop it.

My question is whether anyone thinks I would have a case here.

I had purchase invoices with the suppliers, not this individual. The HK company I paid into is not related to these suppliers. I don't have a written contract with this worker of mine, although I have many emails that make it clear what his role is.

I either consider it an expensive lesson, or try to go down the legal road, but I'm wondering what, if anything, can be done. Especially if he truly did spend the money and he has nothing.

Would appreciate any advice or contacts. I have contacted a couple international Chinese lawyers and am waiting response.

Thanks,
    Aaron

Posted: Oct 25, 2017 By: Aaron MB Member since: Oct 25, 2017
  2. Gordon - Commercial Finance

Gordon - Commercial Finance UKBF Ace Free Member

1,247 322
    VERY expensive one.
    For that amount of money, I think you have to pursue it however you can....

Posted: Oct 25, 2017 By: Gordon - Commercial Finance Member since: Jun 26, 2017
  3. Lisa Thomas

Lisa Thomas UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

2,817 331