Employment & HR Brought to you by Milkround
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, make sure to follow us on Twitter! Say hi and we'll be sure to follow back!

Unable to find good employees. Anyone else have this problem?

Discussion in 'Employment & HR' started by Ali-print, May 30, 2013.

1. Ali-print

Ali-print UKBF Newcomer Free Member

I have been running our business for many years. Over the years I have had to make employees redundant and rejuvenate the business. As the business has grown I have had major problems in recruiting the right people. I have been through 8/9 accounts people. 4/5 office customer service staff. 4/5 warehouse staff.

We are constantly hearing about large unemployment and yet I find it so hard to find good workers???

I have always been the type of person that if I'm employed by someone I will do my best to help the company. The people I employ don't seem to care about my business or the work they are doing.

One of my major problems is knowing how much to pay a person. I s business of course so I have to make sure I am getting value for my money.

My business competition are beating me because they are building strong businesses. Good design departments, good technology (websites), good marketing and good customer service dept's.
    I feel for me to compete I need to be doing the same.

I am not a fan of recruitment firms. They charge a lot and you really never guaranteed a good employee. You end up paying there fees and then having to let the employee go after 3 months.

I am also not a fan of the apprenticeship schemes. The people coming through are so bad and that is if they turn up. Also the training firms offering these apprentices don't seem to be teaching them properly. It's all just about ticking boxes and getting paid by government.

I have also tried graduate schemes but the quality of graduates is so poor. I haven't had the training they have had and I end up showing them how to use program's.