The "Gift Economy" - Genius or just Stupid?

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Nathanael Jones, Jan 4, 2014.

1. Nathanael Jones

Nathanael Jones UKBF Newcomer Free Member

I'm a freelance web designer who's always on the lookout for clever marketing ideas - and over the weekend I came across this article written by another freelance web designer about his foray into the "Gift Economy".
    http://adrianhoppel.com/this-is-wha...ic-your-job-is-and-you-do-something-about-it/

I must admit the ideal fits in very well with my own personal aspirations & ethics,.. but is it just an "Ideal" or could his success be replicated in this part of the world, especially in the current economic climate?

I've bills to pay, a young family to feed, and practically no savings that could be used as a safety net - - yet I'm still incredibly tempted to give it a try! I'd imagine it'd be something that could generate a bit of publicity, newspapers, social media attention etc - and if there were enough enquiries I'd be able to pick & choose which jobs I wanted, weed out potential messers who only want to take advantage and work on projects that have real world implications for building communities & doing good.

I'm not a complete tree hugging hippie (Though I do lean a little that direction) - I know money will still be essential to my existence & gifts of a cow or a tonne of wheat really won't have any real world value in my 3 bed semi!

So,... am I a few sandwiches short of a picnic - or could this actually work??
    Posted: Jan 4, 2014 By: Nathanael Jones Member since: Dec 30, 2013
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Tim Coulter

Tim Coulter UKBF Newcomer Full Member

Wow! Thanks for a very thought-provoking question.