1. Welcome to the new-look UKBF! Check out our FAQ guide.

self study aca/acca/cima???

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by lio, Feb 18, 2008.

1. lio

lio UKBF Regular Free Member

I am a recent mature graduate and am looking to start a career in accountancy. I have little or no direct relevant work or academic experience however I am more than numerically competent. Could anyone advise me if it would be worth my while embarking on self study towards aca/acca/cima and would potential employers look more favourably upon my application, or is it a waste of time starting studying until I have (hopefully!!) secured an accounting position? Any help would be gratefully received!!
  2. James Poulter

James Poulter UKBF Regular Free Member

I don't know the exact costs, but studying an ACA is not cheap, right?

If I was you I would dedicate my time preparing to ace interviews/tests/assessment centres that are the selection criteria for your future employers. There are a lot of accountancy firms out there, you can even afford to practice on a few.
  3. Jenni384

Jenni384 UKBF Regular Full Member

To qualify with one of the Chartered bodies, you will have to demonstrate a length of work experience as well as passing all the exams. With this in mind, it's probably best to get a job in accountancy with a firm who will support you through your training.
    I would have thought some job adverts will say 'study supported' or similar.
    I wouldn't have thought putting yourself through study (which is much harder) would gain you much in the employment stakes, but 'shop around' with local firms and see what's on offer in general before committing to anything.

Good luck.
  4. KidsBeeHappy

KidsBeeHappy UKBF Regular Full Member

Best way to study for any of these is as part of a graduate intake.

Now is a really good time to be thinking about this, as the accountancy firms are filling their graduate programmes for start in August 2008.