Sage Payroll Help needed

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by KelsBells, Apr 7, 2010.

1. KelsBells

KelsBells UKBF Newcomer Free Member

We made someone redundant and im trying to enter them onto sage 50 as that so they will be entitled to a tax break from their final pay, however I have never done it before and im not sure how to do it, i am trying sage but ive been on hold for 30 mins with another hour still to go it seems, any help would be very welcomed.
    Posted: Apr 7, 2010 By: KelsBells Member since: Apr 7, 2010
  2. GillespieBS

GillespieBS UKBF Regular Free Member

If you are making a contractual payment such as payment in lieu of notice, then this will go through the payroll as a normal salary payment and be taxed.

If you are making an ex gratia payment, i.e. a payment outside any contractual obligation of the company, this may not incur PAYE/NIC therefore I don't see why you would put it through the payroll. Some people will include the payment in a compromise agreement.

I'd get a second opinion too as its not the kind of thing that you want to get wrong.
    Posted: Apr 7, 2010 By: GillespieBS Member since: Apr 11, 2008
  3. Merlion ABS

Merlion ABS UKBF Newcomer Free Member

You can pay any normal salary due and holiday pay etc.. via the normal monthly payroll and then treat them as a normal leaver for payroll purposes, ie P45 etc... In Sage Payroll there is a Leaver Wizard which takes you through it or it can be done within the employees record.

However, redundancy Pay is totally seperate and can be paid by a cheque direct to the individual and assuming you have the relevant redundancy forms and calculations you can send the cheque with them, unless you have already given the forms out.

Hope that helps.
    Posted: Apr 9, 2010 By: Merlion ABS Member since: Apr 8, 2010
  4. mikky_uk

mikky_uk UKBF Newcomer Free Member