Running business from home - 'increase in traffic'?

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Againsttheodds, Jul 14, 2013.

1. Againsttheodds

Againsttheodds UKBF Newcomer Free Member

Have been a long term 'lurker' on these forums and have learnt much - I now have a question which perhaps some of you may be able to advise me on:

I have suspicions that a neighbour may complain to the local council that I'm running a business from home - even though I have been doing so for around 20 years. It is all very low key but whenever someone calls at my house he is there in his window, often with his camera . . . Business wise, I have roughly 4 deliveries per month brought by van, not lorry, during the daytime and the van might be outside my house for ten minutes or so each time. In addition I have a small number of customers who drop off payment usually by just posting a cheque through my door - these customers may arrive in either their van or a car. This probably happens, on average about 6 or 7 times a month.

What I would like to know is whether this amount of traffic is likely to be perceived as 'a marked increase in traffic' in the eyes of the council planners.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Ta
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2013
    Posted: Jul 14, 2013 By: Againsttheodds Member since: Jul 27, 2010
  2. OldWelshGuy

OldWelshGuy UKBF Regular Moderator

have you contacted the local authorities with regard your business working from home? there is a difference between working from hom and having a business trading from home, if customers drop checques in then that is not part of business it is another option rather than posting the thing, and doesn't impact on 'business' traffic.
    Posted: Jul 14, 2013 By: OldWelshGuy Member since: Jun 12, 2008
  3. roydmoorian

roydmoorian UKBF Contributor Full Member - Verified Business

It's not an increase if it has been happening for the previous 10 years without complaint ;)