IT & Internet Brought to you by Samsung
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, make sure to follow us on Twitter! Say hi and we'll be sure to follow back!

Plot post codes

Discussion in 'IT & Internet' started by einarp, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. einarp

    einarp UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 54 Likes: 1
    I'm trying to make a plot map of our geographical spread of customers. I have all data in three different formats.

    Either full post code
    Or left half of post code
    Or Coordinates (latitude, longitude).

    Anyone can help me with one-off job with me having to pay for a software?
     
    Posted: Oct 16, 2007 By: einarp Member since: Jul 12, 2005
    #1
  2. Jeewhizz

    Jeewhizz UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 691 Likes: 69
    Using the latitude & longitude, you could get these plotted on a google Map - quite easy really.
     
    Posted: Oct 16, 2007 By: Jeewhizz Member since: Aug 27, 2007
    #2
  3. einarp

    einarp UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 54 Likes: 1
    I have 1400 customers... I need to be able to plot them all in one.
     
    Posted: Oct 16, 2007 By: einarp Member since: Jul 12, 2005
    #3
  4. Chris Ashdown

    Chris Ashdown UKBF Legend Free Member

    Posts: 6,795 Likes: 1,457
    Look for GIS software normally part of a cad package like autocad you can then either use lat long or utm grids, I think post codes are expensive to use
     
    Posted: Oct 16, 2007 By: Chris Ashdown Member since: Dec 7, 2003
    #4
  5. chancebot

    chancebot UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 26 Likes: 0
    This should be pretty easy. Use a site like

    http://mapmaker.donkeymagic.co.uk/

    to get core javascript for one of your records and then write a script to create the javascript for the remaining 1399. You'll need to get your own googlemaps API key.
     
    Posted: Oct 16, 2007 By: chancebot Member since: Oct 5, 2007
    #5
  6. einarp

    einarp UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 54 Likes: 1
    It would probably take me shorter time to manually plot 1400 post codes than to learn whatever you just said :)

    Anything for dummies?
     
    Posted: Oct 17, 2007 By: einarp Member since: Jul 12, 2005
    #6
  7. Jeewhizz

    Jeewhizz UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 691 Likes: 69
    I sent you a PM yesterday with some solutions
     
    Posted: Oct 17, 2007 By: Jeewhizz Member since: Aug 27, 2007
    #7
  8. Spiderden

    Spiderden UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 713 Likes: 77
    I have a file that I used for a nearest store script I was commissioned to write a couple of years ago. It has both Lat & Long as well as OS coordinates for the first half of all UK post codes. You may find this useful.

    http://www.eshopforums.com/upload_files/postcodedata.txt
     
    Posted: Oct 18, 2007 By: Spiderden Member since: Aug 2, 2007
    #8
  9. RobertSagoyan

    RobertSagoyan UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 18 Likes: 0
    Google Maps is very good . It's also support UK postcodes now.
    You need to put your customer locations(lat/long) to XML file and read it using Google map api ,
    javascript and google map api , all what you need.
     
    Posted: Oct 25, 2007 By: RobertSagoyan Member since: Oct 25, 2007
    #9
  10. einarp

    einarp UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 54 Likes: 1
    Again, a little too advanced for a poor accountant :)

    I have an excel file with postcode, lat. and long. which I guess is fairly simple to make into xml.

    Any link to any places where I can just upload the file and the plotting is done?
     
    Posted: Oct 25, 2007 By: einarp Member since: Jul 12, 2005
    #10
  11. altyfc

    altyfc UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 106 Likes: 1
    Is this an online map you're wanting?

    Our http://www.aardvarkmap.net tool might be just what you're looking for. You just enter your postcodes at step 1, and it will plot them on to a Google Map for you.

    At the end, you just copy and paste some code.
     
    Posted: Oct 26, 2007 By: altyfc Member since: Apr 13, 2003
    #11
  12. Galloglaigh

    Galloglaigh UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 30 Likes: 3
    MS Autoroute has a data import facility from excel. Import the postcodes and they are shown on a GB map. No limit as far as I am aware on the number and it's quick. Think it's 40 Euros.

    Another feature is that you can plot say 10 postcodes and get an optimised route ie, shortest / quickest etc. Good for planning delivery routes etc
     
    Posted: Oct 26, 2007 By: Galloglaigh Member since: Oct 22, 2007
    #12
  13. RobertSagoyan

    RobertSagoyan UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 18 Likes: 0
    Einarp , there is a lot of documentation how to plot map with markers of locations array.
    Google is the perfect solution for this.
    This is a funciton which works with XML. Just :) use google to find the API , if you need more details,just let me know. perhaps you have already solved your request.
    GDownloadUrl("YOUR XML ", function(data, responseCode)
    {

    }

     
    Posted: Oct 28, 2007 By: RobertSagoyan Member since: Oct 25, 2007
    #13