General Business Forum Brought to you by Zervant
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, make sure to follow us on Twitter! Say hi and we'll be sure to follow back!

Motor Trade Advice

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Jonathan Smith23, Jun 25, 2015.

1. Jonathan Smith23

Jonathan Smith23 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

Hi, my name is Jonathan, I'm looking for some advice regarding entering the motor trade.

When I was 21 I set up a small car dealership (childhood obsession).

Sadly due to the cost of insurance at that age (4k with Tradex) and me being very Naive I didn't last very long, I had no contacts, and the one dealer I did find just gave me all his crap, and my dream quickly went down the toilet.

So, I am just about to turn 25, and have just sold the business I've been building for the last 3 years (non motor trade related) which some may say is a mistake but my passion is still with cars and I'm hoping that now I have a much wiser head on my shoulders and more business sense I can make a better go of it.

I don't want to jump in to this again without getting all the advice I possibly can, hence why I'm here.

I have some premises lined up, warranty company, Insurance, and also a repair garage at trade rates to sort servicing e.t.c.

What I'm really looking for is some trade contacts who can send a few cars my way or point me in the right direction at least.

I have an account with BCA but their fee's are excessive and most of the advice I've read about them isn't good.

I don't expect to get rich, nor do I really want to, I just want to feed the wife and kids and do the job I have a passion in :)

I know at 24/25 years old I'm still young, but please don't judge me on my age (my wife tells me I'm a boring old man) which I take as a compliment :) but in all honesty I am a professional, hard working individual.

so any positive advice would be very much appreciated.

Kind Regards.

Posted: Jun 25, 2015 By: Jonathan Smith23 Member since: Jun 25, 2015
  2. TMGG