1. Welcome to UKBF! Check out our FAQ guide.

Insurance Companies and VAT

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by europeanprinter, Jun 11, 2010.

1. europeanprinter

europeanprinter UKBF Newcomer Free Member

Hello

I am a Spain based print broker. We have relationships with printers around Europe (as our name hopefully suggests) and the UK has been a good market for us in the past.

Recently a friend told me that UK based insurance companies cannot claim back the VAT they pay for goods and services. I'm not sure why they have been singled out in this way - but I imagine that there is a reason...

Thus, I imagine, when a UK insurance company has their printing done, if they do so in the UK, they pay the VAT on top and simply have to carry the charge.

When we invoice UK companies we do not have to levy the Spanish VAT.

It would make sense to me that UK insurance companies should investigate this.

Can anyone confirm or clarify the situation with VAT for this sector? I will initiate a marketing campaign to this sector if I can establish the reality of the situation.

Many thanks in advance for any advice.

Steve Cameron
  2. Williams lester

Williams lester UKBF Regular Full Member

Insurance services are exempt from VAT and for any business providing solely these services there is no taxable supply. Where there is no taxable supply there can be no reclaim of any VAT on costs incurred.
  3. elainec100@cheapaccounting

elainec100@cheapaccounting UKBF Regular Full Member

Last edited: Jun 11, 2010
  4. David Richards

David Richards UKBF Contributor Free Member

Insurance is exempt from VAT in the UK (an "exempt supply"). Which means no VAT is charged on insurance, but also that insurance firms cannot reclaim VAT on the things they buy which relate to an "exempt supply".

That's correct.

Presumably they have supplied you with a UK VAT number. (If they don't, you probably should be charging Spanish VAT.)