Importing from China to sell on Ebay

Discussion in 'International Business' started by MK1, Dec 5, 2009.

1. MK1

MK1 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

Hi all, i'm a newb to the forums and i'm just seeking advice about ebay.
    I'm currently a student, due to start uni next year so i thought id try to gain some extra £££ to help me through my studies.
    I was recently thinking about starting my own shop on eBay selling imported goods from China such as consumer electronics- storage devices (e.g. USB flash memory). There are two main questions i would like to ask:

1). What are the costs involving import? Not necessarily the price of transportation, but customs and excise duties etc.
    On the HMRC website, it stated goods are not subject to import VAT if the value of the import is less than £18. Is this per unit or per shipment?

2). Do i need to obtain a special license to resell branded goods on eBay? I was looking to buy from original manufacturing plants from brands such as SanDisk, Kingston and Maxell.

Thanks in advance,
    Alex
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
    Posted: Dec 5, 2009 By: MK1 Member since: Dec 3, 2009
  2. dingbat

dingbat UKBF Newcomer Free Member

The £18 figure will relate to total cost of order.

There are two taxes - VAT and Import Duty. VAT will be payable on your product but import duty can vary.

You won't need any special licence but I very much doubt any of those companies would deal with you directly. Those brands are one of the most faked when it comes to product. It's also one of the most competitive markets so seeing any kind of profit will be very hard.

If you're looking to sell on ebay, you might find your listings being removed pretty sharpish. Do your homework.
    Posted: Dec 5, 2009 By: dingbat Member since: Nov 28, 2006
  3. glass

glass UKBF Newcomer Free Member

Just to add, these companies are likely to have UK agents and unless you are going to place large orders they are not likely want to deal with you direct