How do i get exclusive distribution rights

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Tangerine, Dec 5, 2008.

1. Tangerine

Tangerine UKBF Newcomer Free Member

Hi all, this is my first time using the forum and i'm hoping to gain a lot here. I am liaising with a comany in the US as i want distribute their product in the UK. I have been asked to put together a business profile and give an indication of targets. To be honest i'm not quite sure how to go about it, particulary the targets bit. The profile bit seems straighforward but what do i have to do in order for them to have confidence in a small 2 person business like mine.
    Posted: Dec 5, 2008 By: Tangerine Member since: Nov 1, 2008
  2. stevon

stevon UKBF Newcomer Free Member

I assume what they mean by targetting is:
    a) defining a target market
    b) how you intend to serve this market

To go into a bit more detail...

a) Defining a target market means you have to segment the market (break it up into smaller, managable peices based on demographics. Demongraphics they'd be expecting would be things like age, sex, location, socio-economic status, etc.) You'd be able to do this by conducting some form of research... Depending on the market it'd require either conducting your own research to get the specific information you're looking for (this could impress them, especially if you could get a sample size of 100-1000 to bring the accuracy of your research upto the 90%+ mark, although I don't know what your time limitations are) or using secondary research (research which is already available, but collected by someone else, possibly for a different purpose), this makes it easier and quicker to get larger sample sizes but the results may not be as relevent. Also check the dates if you're doing this; it mightn't be relevent anymore and discredit you.