Help with Sage year end/VAT return problem

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by rachgrif, Sep 30, 2008.

1. rachgrif

rachgrif UKBF Regular Free Member

Hi all

I am completely new to the forum and hoping that someone out there can give me some advice.

Our business is only a year old and I am a complete novice at accounting (picking things up as I go along). We have had an accountant for the last 12 months but have decided to change to a new one as we weren't happy. We are now 'in-between' accounts as this transition is taking a while and I really don't know what I'm doing with SAGE!

Our business year finished at the beginning of August so Sage is now warning me about this each time I try to input new data. I am assuming by this, that I need to run a year end? If so how do I do this?

My next problem is that I need to complete my VAT return for 1st June - 31st August so I am unsure how to do this on SAGE due to this period running over the year end date. Will completing a year end on SAGE mess up my figures for the VAT return?

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated as my return needs to be in at very latest by 7th Oct.

Thanks in advance
    Rachel
    Posted: Sep 30, 2008 By: rachgrif Member since: Sep 30, 2008
  2. Jenni384

Jenni384 UKBF Regular Full Member

Running the VAT return won't affect the year end, don't worry about that. Get the VAT return sorted before worrying about the year end. You can continue inputting transactions without closing the year.

I highly recommend paying a bookkeeper for just a couple of hours to point you in the right direction - you admit to being a Sage novice and there are various traps you could fall into without guidance. This is especially important if you're doing VAT returns as well. A lot of people do the bookkeeping themselves and get a bookkeeper in to double check the VAT returns once a quarter. I'd also get them to help you with the year end.